International Heliophysics Data Environment Alliance (SCOSTEP)

We are delighted to announce the establishment of the International Heliophysics Data Environment Alliance (the IHDEA ; The heliophysics community has long been in the era of big data, particularly in terms of data complexity. Research analysis and modeling efforts to understand heliophysical phenomena and space weather events and to develop and validate tools for space weather forecasts have to rely on the availability, accessibility and usability of diverse (space-based and ground-based) heliophysics and space weather data products. In recognition of the importance of international coordination and collaboration in making the diverse observation and simulation data resources available for supporting heliophysics and space weather research, a series of meetings were held with representatives from NASA, ESA, CNES, JAXA (ISAS), and Nagoya University-ISEE. One major outcome of those meetings is the formation of the IHDEA to guide the development of an open heliophysics data environment.

The IHDEA vision entails enabling the international heliophysics research community to seamlessly find, access, and use all relevant electronically accessible data sets in accordance with the FAIR principles (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable). The IHDEA will focus on :

1) Enabling efficient exchange of and access to the diverse data products obtained from space missions, ground-based experiments, and models ;

2) Fostering coordinated development of existing and future heliophysics standards for data, metadata, and services to enable interoperability ; and

3) Promoting and assisting the adoption of the above standards.

The IHDEA recognizes standardization and interoperability efforts by international bodies in other domains and will coordinate and collaborate with them when appropriate. Further information about the IHDEA (reviewing the Charter and Bylaws documents, becoming an active member with voting rights, and subscribing to news) can be found on its website :

Shing F. Fung (NASA GSFC)
Arnaud Masson (TpZ for ESA)
Aaron Roberts (NASA GSFC)
Todd King (UCLA)
Christophe Arviset (ESA)
Guido de Marchi (ESA)
Yoshizumi Miyoshi (Nagoya University-ISEE)
Baptiste Cecconi (Observatoire de Paris)